Tags

, , ,

Vegetarian recipe

Just as I was wondering what to make for this week’s random vegetarian recipe, one of my favourite sources of culinary inspiration popped up on my FB feed with a dish that made my mouth water at the very thought!! I was down the supermarket and back to my oven in record time, eager to get cracking with my version of Jack Monroe’s Mushroom & Tea Bourginon.

Mine’s with wine.

But then, you kind of expected that, didn’t you?

😉

Ingredients:
Half an onion, chopped
Couple of cloves of garlic, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
200g tinned chopped tomatoes
1 tbsp tomato puree
150ml red wine
Half tsp dried herbs of your choice (I used oregano)
100g red beans, drained and rinsed
200g mushrooms, sliced

What to do:
Gently fry the onion and garlic in the olive oil over a medium heat for about 3 minutes, or until they start to soften.
Add the chopped tomatoes and stir in the puree and herbs.
Pour in the wine.
Chuck in the mushrooms
Stir well and bring to the boil.
Reduce to a simmer and cook for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Add in the red beans and simmer for a further 20 minutes or so, or until the sauce is nice and thick.

Tips:
Quaff the lot in one go with a bit of garnishing, as I did.
Or serve with mash and veg, or rice, in which case you’ll get a couple of servings from this recipe.

And do check out Jack’s website here…it’s really cool!

http://agirlcalledjack.com/

 

