Tags

, , , ,

IMG_2466

OK, so this is not, in the strictest sense of the word, a recipe. It’s more a variation, maybe an improvisation. I’m not sure what it is, to be honest, but what the heck…it’s going on my blog!!

A big part of the staple diet, especially amongst all the single people is know, is the good, old-fashioned Jacket Potato. It’s versatile, it’s simple and it’s tasty.

I’ve always loved baked potatoes in their skins, but admittedly, even my old faithful started to feel a bit dull when I finally stopped eating fish and could no longer top it with tuna. So, I turned to stuff like cheese, baked beans, coleslaw, cottage cheese, which was fine…for a while. But now I’m trying to eat as little processed food as possible, so I’ve been experimenting with various alternatives. So far, this is my favourite. See what you think!!

Ingredients:
Medium sized potato or sweet potato
6 – 8 tablespoons of olive oil (I use loads so I don’t need to add butter or margarine to the potato when it is baked)
Couple of slices of onion, chopped
Clove of garlic, chopped
Quarter of a sweet pepper, chopped
3 – 4 mushrooms, sliced
6-8 thin slices of courgette
1 tomato, chopped
Black pepper to taste
Ground cumin to taste

What to do:
Cook potato in oven (200 degrees C in a fan oven, 220 degrees C in an electric oven or gas mark 7) for about 40 minutes, or until it’s soft in the middle. I’m a no-fuss kinda gal when it comes to baking spuds – I don’t mess about with tin foil as I like the skin nice and crispy. So, I just wash it, dry it, stab it a few times, place it straight onto the oven shelf and let it do its thing. If you must use a microwave, I shall avert my eyes now!

Go and do whatever you fancy for the next thirty minutes or so, then come back to prepare your veg.

Heat the oil in a frying pan. Stir in all the veggies expect the tomato. Cook on a medium heat for about 4 minutes, then throw in the chopped tomato. Careful, if your heat is too high, it might spit.

Add black pepper and cumin – or whatever herbs and spices take your fancy.

Remove from heat and set aside.

Take potato from oven and cut in half.

Pour on sautéed veg topping, and voila!

Tip:
Add a sprinkling of chia seeds, or sesame seeds, or crushed walnuts to the top for that extra bit of crunch!

 

